7.5 million euro to promising Uppsala University scientists

Published: 2012-09-18

Over 500 promising top European scientists have been granted 1.5 million euros each by the European Research Council, ERC. Five of the scientists receiving funding are based at Uppsala University.


Out of the 4,741 applicants 536 scientists have been awarded starting grants by the ERC. Researchers at 220 different departments in 21 European countries get to share roughly €800 million.

44 per cent of the grants go to research in physical science and engineering, 37 per cent to life sciences and 19 per cent to social sciences and humanities. The researchers were chosen through peer review by 25 panels consisting of experienced scientists from around the world.

22 of the grants go to scientists in Sweden. (13 to research in life sciences, 8 to physical sciences and engineering and 1 to social sciences and humanities.)

Uppsala University receives five grants, Karolinska Institutet (KI) receives five, Lund University three, Gothenburg three, Chalmer’s two, Linköping University two and the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) two.

The five scientists at Uppsala University receiving grants are:

  • Lynn Kamerlin, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Thijs Ettema, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Kerstin Lindblad-Toh, Department of Medical Sciences
  • Mattias Jakobsson, Department of Ecology and Genetics
  • Gustaf Gredebäck, Department of Psychology


David Naylor