International prize to SciLifeLab facility director Gunnar von Heijne

Published: 2019-09-11

SciLifeLab Cryo-EM director Gunnar von Heijne (Stockholm University) have been awarded The Biophysical Society’s 2020 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award.

Gunnar von Heijne, Professor of theoretical Chemistry at the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Stockholm University, receives the award based on his profound contributions in creating important theoretical and experimental tools that increase the understanding of the mechanisms behind membrane protein biosynthesis.

The price is awarded to prominent researchers who have made significant contributions to the field of membrane protein research and is funded by Anatrace.

Gunnar von Heijne will recieve the award at the Society’s 64th Annual Meeting at the San Diego Convention Center in California, February 15-19, 2020.

Photo: Max Brouwers